copertina

The Smell of Other People's Houses

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

0 recensioni
Con la tua recensione raccogli punti Premium
Editore: Wendy Lamb Books
Formato: EPUB con DRM
Testo in en
Compatibilità: Tutti i dispositivi (eccetto Kindle) Scopri di più
Dimensioni: 9,03 MB
  • EAN: 9780553497809
pagabile con 18App pagabile con Carta del Docente
Articolo acquistabile con 18App e Carta del Docente

€ 7,58

Punti Premium: 8

Venduto e spedito da IBS

EBOOK INGLESE
Aggiungi al carrello
spinner
Fai un regalo
spinner

non è possibile acquistare ebook su dispositivi Apple. Puoi comunque aggiungerli alla wishlist

Gaia la libraia

Gaia la libraia Vuoi ricevere un'email sui tuoi prodotti preferiti? Chiedi a Gaia, la tua assistente personale

“Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar.. A thrilling, arresting debut.” —Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here

“[A] singular debut. . . . [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice.” —The Wall Street Journal

This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Praise:
William C. Morris Finalist
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal
Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction
Tayshas Reading List—Top 10 List
New York Public Library’s Best 50 Books for Teens
Chicago Public Library*,* Best of the Best List
Shelf Awareness, Best Children’s & Teen Books of the Year
Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List
Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award

“Hitchcock’s debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study—a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age.” —John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior

“As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there.” —Bustle.com

  • Bonnie Sue Hitchcock Cover

    Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock è stata per lungo tempo giornalista per la rete radiofonica dell'Alaska (dove è nata), ha lavorato per dieci anni nella pesca commerciale e ha allevato i propri figli su una barca, il che spiega l’autenticità con cui racconta la più estrema frontiera dell’America. Nel 2017 L’odore delle case degli altri, il suo primo romanzo, ha vinto il Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis ed è stato finalista per numerosi premi (tra cui Carnegie Medal, William C. Morris Debut Award, Ukla Book Award e molti altri). Del 2019 la traduzione italiana di The Smell of Other People's Houses (L'odore delle case deli altri) edito da Mondadori. Approfondisci
| Vedi di più >
Note legali