Oxford Readings in Aristophanes

Curatore: Erich Segal
Anno: 1996
Rilegatura: Hardback
Pagine: 356 p.
Testo in English
Dimensioni: 224 x 146 mm
Peso: 589 gr.
  • EAN: 9780198721567
pagabile con 18App pagabile con Carta del Docente

Articolo acquistabile con 18App e Carta del Docente

€ 120,91

€ 128,63

Risparmi € 7,72 (6%)

Venduto e spedito da IBS

121 punti Premium

Disponibile in 10 gg

This anthology should be a 'must' for all serious students of Aristophanes. It brings together for the first time in one volume all the most important contributions to the study of Aristophanes published over the last several decades - providing an ideal resource for anyone studying the plays. Aristophanes is the only surviving author of Greek Attic comedy who has left us more than fragments, and his eleven surviving plays reflect the spirit of Athens in the golden age - and its unique freedom of speech. The book deals not only with the better known comedies like Clouds and Birds, but also the later, more unusual works like The Assemblywomen and Wealth, which represent important stages towards the evolution of modern comedy. Subjects range from the classic question of Aristophanes' relationship to contemporary politics to more modern issues such as feminism, gender, performance context, and the interaction between fifth century comedy and tragedy. Many of the contributions are not otherwise readily available to students and teachers, coming from foreign journals and books, difficult to obtain. All the Greek has been translated for the benefit of students reading the plays in English.