The Street Philosopher

Matthew Plampin

Anno: 2009
Rilegatura: Paperback / softback
Pagine: 496 p.
Testo in English
Dimensioni: 198 x 129 mm
Peso: 330 gr.
  • EAN: 9780007272440
pagabile con 18App pagabile con Carta del Docente

Articolo acquistabile con 18App e Carta del Docente

€ 13,56

€ 15,95

Risparmi € 2,39 (15%)

Venduto e spedito da IBS

14 punti Premium

Disponibile in 4/5 settimane

Quantità:
Descrizione
An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own... perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WIND Ambitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier's man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals. Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a `street philosopher', a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas's past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way...