Anno: 2012
Rilegatura: Paperback / softback
Pagine: 272 p.
Testo in English
Dimensioni: 206 x 152 mm
Peso: 204 gr.
  • EAN: 9780061744525
pagabile con 18App pagabile con Carta del Docente

Articolo acquistabile con 18App e Carta del Docente

€ 11,96

€ 14,07

Risparmi € 2,11 (15%)

Venduto e spedito da IBS

12 punti Premium

Disponibile in 10 gg

Quantità:
Descrizione

John J. Miller delivers the intriguing, never-before-told story of how Theodore Roosevelt saved American Football--a game that would become the nation's most popular sport. Miller's sweeping, novelistic retelling captures the violent, nearly lawless days of late 19th century football and the public outcry that would have ended the great game but for a crucial Presidential intervention. Teddy Roosevelt's championing of football led to the creation of the NCAA, the innovation of the forward pass, a vital collaboration between Walter Camp, Charles W. Eliot, John Heisman and others, and, ultimately, the creation of a new American pastime. Perfect for readers of Douglas Brinkley's Wilderness Warrior, Michael Lewis's The Blind Side, and Conn and Hal Iggulden's The Dangerous Book for Boys, Miller's The Big Scrum reclaims from the shadows of obscurity a remarkable story of one defining moment in our nation's history.