The Christmas of the Phonograph Records: A Recollection

Mari Sandoz

Anno: 1996
Rilegatura: Paperback / softback
Pagine: 36 p.
Testo in English
Dimensioni: 152 x 108 mm
Peso: 57 gr.
  • EAN: 9780803292420
pagabile con 18App pagabile con Carta del Docente

Articolo acquistabile con 18App e Carta del Docente

Approfitta delle promozioni attive su questo prodotto:

€ 7,36

€ 8,66

Risparmi € 1,30 (15%)

Venduto e spedito da IBS

7 punti Premium

Disponibile in 10 gg

Quantità:
Descrizione
Charmingly, Mari Sandoz tells of a long-ago Christmas in western Nebraska when her father's house was filled with good music. Old Jules had ordered an Edison phonograph and boxes of cylinder records from the East, paying for them with an inheritance and ignoring debts, to the chagrin of his long-suffering wife. But the entire family soon entered into the holiday spirit as neighbors arrived to feast and dance and enjoy musical selections ranging from Lucia di Lammermoor to Casey at the Telephone. Even old enmities dissolved under the spell, for, as Old Jules said, "The music is for everybody." A classic in the tradition of Dylan Thomas's Child's Christmas in Wales and Truman Capote's Christmas Memory, this story by the famous author of Old Jules was first published posthumously in December 1966.