Chiudi

Aggiungi l'articolo in

Chiudi
Aggiunto

L’articolo è stato aggiunto alla lista dei desideri

Chiudi

Crea nuova lista

Dati e Statistiche
Wishlist Salvato in 0 liste dei desideri
1980 The Year the Past Disappeared: A Novel
Scaricabile subito
Omaggio
Omaggio
Scaricabile subito
Chiudi
Altri venditori
Prezzo e spese di spedizione
ibs
0,00 € Spedizione gratuita
disponibilità immediata disponibilità immediata
Info
Nuovo
Altri venditori
Prezzo e spese di spedizione
ibs
0,00 € Spedizione gratuita
disponibilità immediata disponibilità immediata
Info
Nuovo
Altri venditori
Prezzo e spese di spedizione
Chiudi

Tutti i formati ed edizioni

Chiudi
1980 The Year the Past Disappeared: A Novel
Chiudi

Promo attive (0)

Chiudi
1980 The Year the Past Disappeared: A Novel
Chiudi

Informazioni del regalo

Descrizione


“The man was clearly insane. He wanted to kill them all. The Baby Boomers. The Generation Xers. Hated them worse than lepers. He wanted to kill them in their cars.” In the tradition of Infinite Jest and White Noise comes a novel of a darkly satirical alternate future... Los Angeles. The mid-2020’s. Rock MacLean is an A-list actor at the height of his fame…handsome and wealthy. But middle age is creeping up. With nowhere to go but down, his wife is threatening to leave him and take their two little girls. No wonder—even Rock thinks he might be a sex addict. Far from having it all, Rock’s about to lose everything. And he doesn’t even care. But when a drug deal with Nicaraguan gangsters goes sour, Rock finds himself in the path of Dewey Lane—a fanatical army colonel with a plan to wipe Southern California off the map. Trapped in a mountainside bunker, Rock watches helplessly as Dewey sets off an electronic pulse—causing the simultaneous destruction of every automobile in Los Angeles. But that’s only phase one of Dewey’s plan. Phase two? Nuclear Armageddon. And only Rock can stop it. 1980 “The Year the Past Disappeared” is a novel where delusion, sex, and cheap weapons of mass terror intersect in a satirical look at a materialistic and cynical future. From inside the novel… “Spare me the speech. The plan's in motion. There's no way to stop me.” “You're going to blow the top off this mountain?” Dewey laughed. “No, I'm going to blow up the crust of the earth under Los Angeles. Let it catch fire. I suppose you had time to examine the tools where I left you the last time.” “Yeah, but—” “Next to that conveyor belt is a bore hole. Reaching down twenty-five kilometers into the earth. It's super hot. That's where the bomb will drop, hitting terminal velocity in a vacuum, once the air is sucked out of the hole.” “What is this?” said Rock. “Some kind of science experiment?” “The computer simulation—” “Bulls***. You have no idea what you're doing. That bomb won't destroy anything underground. The Soviets have been doing this for almost a century.” “Don't be so sure.” “Tell me, did you create the tsunami, too?” Dewey smiled. “I doubt it. But who knows what causes earthquakes, right? This IS Los Angeles. Whole lotta shaking going on.” “And you think the army hasn't noticed you have one of their warheads?” “They've lost track of dozens. In China and Africa. One more won't make much of a difference. Besides, plenty of people in the government know who I am and what I intend to do. They've been surveilling me for months, but they have done nothing. The spies are hoping for an increase in their budgets. Most of those bureaucrats in Washington and Chicago can't stand California anyway. Tell them Los Angeles is going to fall into the ocean and they'd applaud.”
Leggi di più Leggi di meno

Dettagli

2015
Testo in en
Tutti i dispositivi (eccetto Kindle) Scopri di più
Reflowable
9780992008086
Chiudi
Aggiunto

L'articolo è stato aggiunto al carrello

Compatibilità

Formato:

Gli eBook venduti da IBS.it sono in formato ePub e possono essere protetti da Adobe DRM. In caso di download di un file protetto da DRM si otterrà un file in formato .acs, (Adobe Content Server Message), che dovrà essere aperto tramite Adobe Digital Editions e autorizzato tramite un account Adobe, prima di poter essere letto su pc o trasferito su dispositivi compatibili.

Compatibilità:

Gli eBook venduti da IBS.it possono essere letti utilizzando uno qualsiasi dei seguenti dispositivi: PC, eReader, Smartphone, Tablet o con una app Kobo iOS o Android.

Cloud:

Gli eBook venduti da IBS.it sono sincronizzati automaticamente su tutti i client di lettura Kobo successivamente all’acquisto. Grazie al Cloud Kobo i progressi di lettura, le note, le evidenziazioni vengono salvati e sincronizzati automaticamente su tutti i dispositivi e le APP di lettura Kobo utilizzati per la lettura.

Clicca qui per sapere come scaricare gli ebook utilizzando un pc con sistema operativo Windows

Chiudi

Aggiungi l'articolo in

Chiudi
Aggiunto

L’articolo è stato aggiunto alla lista dei desideri

Chiudi

Crea nuova lista

Chiudi

Chiudi

Siamo spiacenti si è verificato un errore imprevisto, la preghiamo di riprovare.

Chiudi

Verrai avvisato via email sulle novità di Nome Autore